When did South America gain independence from Spain?

What South American countries gained independence from Spain?

Central America gained its independence along with New Spain. On 15 September 1821, an Act of Independence was signed in Guatemala City which declared Central America (Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica) independent from Spain.

How long did Spain rule South America?

Beginning with Columbus in 1492 and continuing for nearly 350 years, Spain conquered and settled most of South America, the Caribbean, and the American Southwest.

When did South America gain independence from Spain?

After three centuries of colonial rule, independence came rather suddenly to most of Spanish and Portuguese America. Between 1808 and 1826 all of Latin America except the Spanish colonies of Cuba and Puerto Rico slipped out of the hands of the Iberian powers who had ruled the region since the conquest.

When did each South American countries gain independence?

Latin American Independence Days

Country Independence
Nicaragua 15 September 1821 (from Spain)
Panama 3 November 1903 (from Colombia; became independent from Spain 28 November 1821)
Paraguay 14 May 1811 (from Spain)
Peru 28 July 1821 (from Spain)
THIS IS FUNNING:  Which Spanish is easiest to understand?