When did Spain rule the Caribbean?

How long did Spain control the Caribbean?

From the late 15th to the late 19th centuries, Spain controlled extensive territories in and around the Caribbean Sea, including the Greater Antilles, the mainland and islands along the Caribbean’s southern littoral, and the entire Gulf of Mexico.

What Caribbean islands did Spain own?

The islands ruled by Spain were chiefly the Greater Antilles such as Hispaniola (inclusive of modern-day Haiti and the Dominican Republic), Cuba, Jamaica, and Puerto Rico.

Why did Spain colonize the Caribbean?

When the Spanish (in the form of Columbus’s expedition) came to the Caribbean in the late 15th century, they were coming for “gold, God, and glory.” They wanted to get rich by finding gold, they wanted to spread Christianity, and they wanted to get glory (the glory of finding new things).

What islands did Spain control in the 1890s?

Spain had dominated Central and South America since the late fifteenth century. But, by 1890, the only Spanish colonies that had not yet acquired their independence were Cuba and Puerto Rico.

Does Spain own the Caribbean?

Over the following centuries, England, France and even Denmark took a share of the Caribbean, leaving Spain with a minority of islands but a majority of the territory: Cuba has the same area as the rest of the Caribbean put together, while Hispaniola (of which the Spanish part is the Dominican Republic) and Puerto Rico …

THIS IS FUNNING:  What are 5 Spanish nouns?

What island was originally the Spanish hub in the Caribbean?

Here are five islands where the legendary marauders made a major impact: Once considered Jamaica’s “wickedest city,” Port Royal was a hub of pirate activity. Where else to start but Jamaica? The Spanish founded Port Royal—also known as Jamaica’s “wickedest city”—in 1494.