What is the main city of Madrid?

What is the biggest city in Madrid?

The 50 largest Spanish cities

Rank City Population
1 Madrid 2,824,000
2 Barcelona 1,454,000
3 Valencia 736,000
4 Sevilla 695,000

What are the 8 capitals of Spain?

Spain’s capital and largest city is Madrid; other major urban areas include Barcelona, Valencia, Seville, Zaragoza, Málaga, Murcia, Palma de Mallorca, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and Bilbao. Anatomically modern humans first arrived in the Iberian Peninsula around 42,000 years ago.

Which city is bigger Barcelona or Madrid?


Almost the size of Madrid. Barcelona’s metro area has 4,2 million people, just one million short of the capital. Located in Catalonia, Barcelona has a unique culture with endless opportunities. It is the most popular travel destination among Spanish cities.

Where is the main square in Madrid?

What are the two most important squares in Madrid?

Here are 10 of or our favourite Madrid city squares….

  • Puerta del Sol. Translating as the ‘Gate of the Sun’, Puerta del Sol is one of Madrid’s busiest squares. …
  • Plaza de Cibeles. …
  • Plaza Mayor. …
  • Plaza de la Villa. …
  • Plaza del Callao. …
  • Plaza de España. …
  • Plaza Santa Ana. …
  • Plaza Oriente.

What is the Puerta del Sol in Madrid?

THIS IS FUNNING:  What is the difference between estaba and ERA in Spanish?